njhome my new jersey people business government departments



Record Group: Department of Defense
Subgroup: Adjutant General's Office (Spanish-American War)
Series: Photographs of Naval Officers, ca. 1898-1905
Accession #: Unknown
Series #:  SDEA5006
Guide Date:   5/1992 (JK)
Volume:  0.25 c.f. [1 box]


Contents

Content Note

These photographs of officers of the Naval Battalions of the East and West during the Spanish-American War were collected by Adjutant General R. Heber Breintnall in 1904-05 after he compiled the records of the war. The photographs are arranged in alphabetical order; most are labeled on the reverse. The date of receipt by the Adjutant General's Office has been noted below in brackets for photographs which were date-stamped on the reverse.



Contents
(click on image below for enlarged view)


No.
Caption
Image
1.
ANDERSON, Lieutenant Harold W. [photograph received 9 December 1904].
2.

BLOUNT, Irving, May 1898.

3.
BRADDOCK, Charles S., Jr., of Haddonfield, NJ.
4.
COLBY, Arthur H., September 1898 [photograph received 16 November 1904].
5.
DeUNGER, Lieutenant Albert, 12 July 1898 [photograph received 20 August 1904].
6.
DUGAN, Ensign Daniel A. of Orange, NJ, stationed on the U.S.S. Badger, 1898 [one photograph; one newspaper photograph, received 23 November 1904].
7.
FULPER, William H., P. A. Paymaster, on the U.S.S. Resolute [photograph received 13 December 1904].
8.
GLOVER, Lawrence L., of Haddonfield, NJ [accompanied by a letter dated 11 November 1904 from Adjutant General Breintnall to Mrs. Glover, including her response dated 23 November].
9.
GOLDINGAY, Thomas, of Newark, NJ, 1899 [photograph received 16 November 1904].
10.
GORGAS, Lieutenant J. A., Jr., U.S.S. Resolute, March 1899 [photograph received 25 November 1904].

11.
HART, Lieutenant B. Franklin, Jr., Assistant Engineer on U.S.S. Badger, Chief Engineer on U.S.S. Saturn, and in the Bureau of Steam Engineering at the Navy Yard, Norfolk, VA [half-tone photograph].
12.
HOLLOWAY, Ensign Edward Owens, Watch Officer, U.S.S. Montauk, 1898 [two photographs; one taken in March 1898 on board the U.S.S. Ajax, accompanied by a letter, received 6 December 1904].
13.
HOWELL, Lieutenant W. N., Chief Engineer, U.S.S. Montauk [photograph received 20 August 1904].
14.
KEMBLE, Lieutenant A. Nelson [photograph taken 20 March 1905].
15.
LONG, Ensign C. F., U.S.S. Badger [photograph taken off Havana, Cuba on 6 July 1898].
16.
McGILL, Peter, P. A. Surgeon, U.S.S. Resolute [photograph taken about 8 November 1898].
17.
NYE, Lieutenant Frank A., 1899.
18.
O'ROURKE, Ensign N. P. [photograph taken June 1898; received 16 November 1904].
19.
PATTERSON, Lieutenant Frank [photograph received 7 January 1905].
20.
PETERS, Lieutenant Edward McClure, 1898.
21.
POTTER, Jason Boyd, 1898.
22.
SEDON, Ensign George B., U.S.S. Portsmouth [photograph received 4 February 1905].
23.
SILVERS, Frank H., Lieutenant Junior Grade, September 1898 [photograph received 28 November 1904].
24.
SIMPSON, Major Maxwell S., Surgeon [photograph taken about 1896; accompanied by a letter from Simpson to Adjutant General Breintnall dated 11 December 1904].
25.
TATEM, J. Fithian [photograph taken in Havana, October 1898; received 16 November 1904].

26.

VREELAND, Charles M., June 1898 [photograph received 16 November 1904].


Consult the Reference services page and/or the Guide to Reproduction and Research Services, Policies and Fees for information on reproduction of images included in this collection.


Created September 2003


Contact Information below

Relative to research and mail reference services - archives.reference@sos.state.nj.us
Relative to records transfers and donations - archives.collections@sos.state.nj.us


225 West State Street
P.O. Box 307
Trenton, NJ 08625-0307
609.292.6260 (general information)
609.633.8334 (administrative office)
609.292.9105 (fax)


Please send comments concerning this website to: webmaster.darm@sos.state.nj.us
Link to the State of New Jersey, Department of State Open Public Records Act (OPRA) Web Page
New Jersey State Archives Catalog Searchable Databases Image Collections Documentary Treasures Reference Services Collections Publications Directions Frequently Asked Questions Staff Site Map
 
contact us privacy notice legal statement NJ Home
department: njsos home | opra
njdarm: home | about us | state archives | records management | microgaphics & imaging | records storage | related organizations
statewide: njhome | my new jersey | people | business | government | departments | search
Copyright © State of New Jersey, 2003-2004
New Jersey State Archives Site Map Frequently Asked Questions Staff Directions Publications Reference Services Searchable Databases Imaged Collections Documentary Treasures Catalog Collections New Jersey Department of State Click here to go to NJDARM Home Click here to learn About Us Click here to learn What's New at Darm Click here to go to Records Management Click here to go to Micrographics Click here to go to Records Storage Click here to see Related Organizations